Saturday, June 1, 2013


MARVEL TALES BY ALAN DAVIS (Marvel, 2012; Softcover)

Collects Fantastic Four Annual No. 33, Daredevil Annual No. 1, Wolverine Annual No. 1, and Thor: Truth of History (cover dates December, 2008- October, 2012)

Writer and Penciler: Alan Davis

Inker: Mark Farmer

Colorists: Javier Rodriguez and Rob Schwager (Thor: Truth of History)

This book is a collection of orphaned Alan Davis stories, three of which form a cohesive ClanDestine arc. The Annuals are all from 2011 and 2012 and deal with a timestream clusterf*ck courtesy of a previously unseen member of the Clan Destine, Vincent. 

The cool thing about the stories in these Annuals is that we encounter Vincent and the Clan Destine from different angles in each one. The Thing, the Human Torch, and Doctor Strange encounter Vincent at two different points in his life, while Daredevil is caught in a skirmish with Hex (Dominic). Wolverine encounters the rest of the team and sets things right.

I really enjoy how each issue can be read on its own while all three Annuals form a cohesive story. Thor: Truth of History is completely unrelated to this arc. It is collected here because it is an orphaned Alan Davis story. We get to see Thor and the Warriors Three journey to ancient Egypt. Well, it was actually just Egypt; the story takes place thousands of years ago.

This is a great read with wonderful artwork by the team of Alan Davis and inker Mark Framer. I love all of Alan Davis' work, both his writing and his art. For my money, it really doesn't get much better. I celebrate the man's entire catalog.
Junk Food For Thought rating: 4.5 out of 5.

The OCD zone- Standard fare Marvel trade paperback.

Paper rating: 5 out of 5. Nice thick coated stock paper.

Binding rating: 4 out of 5. Glued binding.

Cardstock cover coating rating: 5 out of 5. The usual high quality laminated coating on the cardstock cover.

No comments:

Post a Comment